My Husband is an Athletic Rockstar

ImageThis first picture is rather fuzzy but I love it so I’m sharing it, anyway!  There he is at the start line!  We weren’t planning on being able to see him at the start but I’m so glad that we were able to.  See that awesome smile?  He kept that going for 26.2 miles.  Attitude means so very very much!  I also appreciate his goofy corral neighbor, Matt Thomas, giving an… well, I don’t know what kind of a face to Justin’s right.  hehe

ImageAND HERE HE IS AT MILE 25!!  This is a nice picture, posted by a friend-of-a-friend on Facebook.  That’s the Pentagon to his left.  Doesn’t he look strong and fabulous?!

ImageJustin gives me a hug as he sips his recovery Endurox (the recovery drink of choice in our household).  I am so unbelievably proud of him!  We’re also holding on to individually bagged brownies, homemade by Matt Thomas’ wife, Kalee.  It was seriously the best brownie I have EVER tasted, hands down.  Just an FYI.

ImageThe Navy Marathon Team took 2nd place in the 2012 Armed Forces Championship!  Great job, gentlemen!  My husband was the only enlisted team member, another FYI.

ImageHere is the very cool award that my rockstar husband received for being the first Navy member to cross the finish line at the Marine Corps Marathon.  His original time goal was a 2:32.  He kept his positive attitude despite the possibility of hurricane force winds destroying his race pace.  He smiled and gave us a thumbs up around mile 9.  His final finish time was 2:31:08 and he came in 10th, overall!  2016 Olympic Marathon Trials, watch out for Justin!

I am thrilled that I was able to spectate and celebrate with my husband.  I’m so lucky to have such an amazing teammate-for-life and I look forward to sharing many more victories with each other!  Did I mention that he is ALSO a Dai Roberts Group athlete?  (http://www.dairobertsgroup.com)

2 thoughts on “My Husband is an Athletic Rockstar

  1. That is amazing and I’m still in awe. Under 2:30 is not even a question in the perfect conditions!

    • cdog781 says:

      I agree with you, Hollie! He isn’t even that sore, today! No walking down the stairs backwards, no grunting when trying to stand up! Nada! Seriously, he can break 2:30, any day!

Leave a Reply

