No Off Season

After the excitement of a big race, especially a successful one, I find that it is sometimes difficult for me to stay motivated in the way that I am leading up to an event.  In the past, I’ve felt a bit like
“what next?” or “I can’t possibly get faster” but this time, it’s a bit different.  Since I’ve just begun the adventure of triathlon I find myself wondering if my two performances were a fluke.  While I believe in my training and trust Coach Dai, it still just seems unreal.  I experience training highs (like PRing my half marathon in an easy/steady training run, yesterday) but then I hit lows (like sucking wind last week when I was just barely hanging on in a group bike ride).  Sometimes it seems like the sky is the limit and other times I feel like I’ve given myself way too much credit for my limited tri-related accomplishments.  *Sigh*  I guess I’ll have to keep lifting those mental weights and think about how far I’ve come!! 😀

Speaking of how far I’ve come…

Image

On the left is a picture of me PRing my half-marathon a year ago this weekend at OBX.  On the right is a picture of the leaner, fitter me… the one who PR’d a half marathon in training, yesterday.  SO, I KNOW that training works!

We’ve had one good discussion about potential goals for my next big tri, which will be Raleigh 70.3 in June, and a finish time of 4:40 or 4:50 was sort of thrown out as a possibility.  At first, I didn’t think that seemed possible but now it seems like anything might be possible with hard work.  I just have to stay motivated and believe that it’s possible.  If anybody can get me there, I’m sure that it’s the Dai Roberts Group!

Speaking of the Dai Roberts Group

Image

Dai Roberts Group has an extensive library available for loan and this fantastic read is going to help get me pumped up for the winter training season.  Dai tells me that, for those who want to be competitive, only losers have an off season!

It’s time to shore myself up, mentally, and embrace the dark, cold and lonely workouts of winter!  Perhaps I’ll imagine myself swimming/riding/running toward the long daylight hours of spring and summer.  If my body can change that much in a year full of injury and rehab, it’ll be very exciting to see the future holds!

7 thoughts on “No Off Season

  1. Mom says:

    June huh, hmmm, it would be nice to try & make it! Would love to see you put it all out there!

  2. Love this and wow what a difference. Your training is really on par and I cannot wait to see what you do next. I’m the same way, always questioning how I could outdo my last performance.

  3. You can do it!!! Sub 5 hours is an amazing goal. Will a 4:40 or 4:50 get you to worlds?

    • cdog781 says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! 🙂 Making it to worlds will basically require placing (probably winning) my AG. Each race has a certain number of slots for worlds and those are parceled out to the AG’s based on percentages of participants in that AG… if that makes sense. It would definitely give me a VERY GOOD shot at worlds but it’s going to depend on who shows up to compete on the day! 😀

Leave a Reply

