Funky Town

I started this blog so that I could share my experiences, good and bad, with the sport of triathlon.  Primarily, I want to help others learn by sharing my own mistakes and my strategies for overcoming psychological, as well as more practical, obstacles.  In order to be true to the purpose of this blog, I think I should share that I am in a complete funk at the moment.  I will share hilarious details about my resulting bratiness at a later date as I’m trying to minimize my time on the computer this evening after having spend several hours grading papers (oh the life of a graduate student).  The funk began yesterday morning and I thought I had kicked it to the curb but… this morning I managed to convince my coach, through brat-tastic behavior, that completing my speed workout was not in my best interest… and then I proceeded to cry while running with him.  FYI – even at slow paces it is super hard to breath adequately, cry and run simultaneously! 🙂

I thought that what I needed was a killer workout to get me back on track but I think I may actually need some additional rest of the psychological kind so I’m about to indulge in some comfort food (brown rice noodles and a homemade veggie sauce but it’s usually reserved for pre-endurance workout dinners) and some Netflix before heading to bed early.  Oh, and there will be herbal tea and aromatherapy candles and probably a decent amount of prayer.  Wish me luck and I will keep you posted on my Funky Town travels! 🙂  <—- At least I can still bring myself to use a happy emoticon. 😀

One thought on “Funky Town

  1. Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

