My Newest Bedmate and Snacking on Algae

Let me tell you about my new favorite in bedroom accessories.  Now now now… get your mind out of the gutter!

Image

Meet the Balance pillow from Bedgear!  Bedgear recognizes the importance of sleep in an athlete’s recovery. Sleep is quite possibly my favorite part of recovery, though eating would be a close second and occasional front-runner. 🙂  Justin and I are thrilled to be a part of Bedgear’s ambassador program and, as a huge proponent of proper rest, I feel that I can truly get behind this company’s products and goals! 😀 YAY SLEEP!

So, what makes Bedgear’s gear so special?  The pillows don’t just “happen” to be incredibly comfortable; a pillow was selected for me by Bedgear based on information about my sleep patterns and the position in which I most frequently sleep (for me, that is ALLLLLLLL over the place, but Justin is a very obvious side-sleeper).  The comfort matters, too.  I have been using a sleep app on my phone to track the duration of my sleep, as well as noise and movement patterns during sleep.  There has been a noticeable difference since I began using the Balance pillow.

 

Image

 

This is a night of sleep pre-Bedgear.  Don’t judge me for the late wake up time!

 

Image

Here is a night with my Bedgear Balance pillow.  This is reflective of a pattern I have seen in my sleep app log.

Justin is also a fan of his Bedgear pillow.  He has the Aspire pillow, which meets his needs as a side-sleeper.  And speaking of Justin, he completed the Armed Forces World Championship Marathon today in Suriname in very HOT and HUMID conditions with a finish time of 2:37:59.  He placed 19th overall and was the first finisher on the U.S. Team.  The mens team took 7th out of 11 teams and the women’s team took 3rd out of 5 teams so I say “Well done, United States Armed Forces!”  Justin forgot his Aspire pillow at home when he flew out so I’m sure he is looking forward to returning to his bed and his lovely head-cushion.

And just so you understand how much I enjoy sleep, please take a gander at my favorite race finisher’s item, ever…

Image

Beach to Battleship 70.3 pajama pants!! WHAT!!

On to another of my favorite subjects, nutrition!  I was recently able to sample an entirely plant-based energy supplements called EnergyBits.  The company markets the EnergyBits as having a variety of uses outside of athletics but, of course, my focus was on what this protein-packed supplement might do for me as an athlete.  EnergyBits are algae in pill form, basically. 🙂  It is recommended that you not chew them and that a great number of them be taken at one time.  They are low calorie but contain a ton of protein, as well as a variety of antioxidants.

Image

My EnergyBits arrived in a tiny little tin.  I refrigerated them to keep them extra fresh.  While refrigeration is not required, it is recommended if you aren’t going to be consuming the product within a few short days.

I used my EnergyBits before a swim workout one day when I was feeling particularly unmotivated and run down.  I didn’t want to consume caffeine because I had a track workout later that day and I have to be careful with my stomach.  The Bits caused me no stomach upset during the swim nor later in the day during my speed work on the track.  I do THINK that I had more energy in the pool than I did prior to taking the EnergyBits but the researcher in me does not believe that this is sufficient evidence to be able to say that I did, indeed, experience an increase in energy. 🙂    I used the rest of my EnergyBits sample up this week before my track workout.  For me, this was the TRUE test.  I have a very sensitive stomach on speed work days.  I can’t even eat my regular quinoa for lunch because it is too high fiber and I eat very few vegetables prior to dinner unless they are well-cooked and not super high fiber.  Thankfully that’s only one evening a week! 🙂  And… there was no stomach upset with the EnergyBits!  Again, I THINK they perked me up some but it’s just really hard to say for certain.  What I CAN say for certain is that they are 1) low calorie, 2) high protein, 3) easy on even the most sensitive stomach, 4) 100% plant-based (They have just one ingredient – 100% organically grown spirulina algae).  Now, I’m not a vegetarian but I can see this being a valuable supplement for individuals who, like me, struggle to consume adequate amount of protein or who live a vegan/vegetarian lifestyle.  Definitely worth checking out and I am going to do a give-away.  If you’re interested in sampling some EnergyBits, please comment on this blog post (on wordpress.com, not via Facebook or Twitter) WHY you want to try these little green goodies… and make it humorous because the post that I find most amusing will win! 🙂  You have until 5 p.m. EST on November 27, 2013!  Also, ENERGYbits are only available at ENERGYbits.com, and Jonathan (their Brand Manager) has shared with me that he’d be happy to connect anyone with a current ambassador to share a discount on a bag of bits – you can email him at jlevitt@energybits.com.

Alright, time to wrap this up because I have a very important date with my Bedgear Balance pillow this evening!

Leave a Reply

