A Year Wiser

I apologize for my absence in the blogging world over the last month or so.  Life took over, and it appears to be planning to run the show at least through the end of January so my presence will be scarce.  However, I did want to take a few minutes to wish you all a wonderful new year and share with you my last month or so of adventures.

 

Image

 

 

My training suffered through the winter last year because of my family to embrace the trainer rides.  I’m approaching my trainer workouts with much more enthusiasm (and holiday cheer) this winter!  Of course, it helps that I upgraded to a CycleOps Fluid trainer!

 

Image

We, of course, had our end of season Girls on the Run 5k.  I’m pictured with my former running buddy, Naomi, and her little brother, Jonah, also known as the “Yorklings.” 🙂  I had a new running buddy for this 5k and she was quite the inspiration. 🙂  I’m so proud of her that I was holding back tears throughout the race!  I would have shared a photo but I don’t have the ability to acquire her parents’ permission.

Image

 

Justin and I enjoyed the photo both at the Jim White Community Fitness Foundation Christmas party.  They held a silent auction with all proceeds going to benefit Jim’s work with the homeless in the local community.  We had a blast and we are so thankful that we became involved with Jim White Fitness.  He’s brought our athletic performance and overall health a long way in 2013.

Image

 

I stepped outside of my comfort zone on a brewery tour with our close friends, the Yorks.  Ruth and I tried every sample that we were given, and I discovered that I actually like beer… and dark beer at that.  Who knew!?  Cheers to trying new things and making memories.  The Yorks are moving to San Diego next summer and, though I don’t even know where I will be next year, I am sad to see them go.  I can honestly say that I love the whole family and feel like a part of it.

Image

Enjoying Christmas Town at Busch Gardens with some friends… or, learning to enjoy it, anyway. Hahaha.  It had been a long time since I’d been on a ride.  Gravity can be quite terrifying!  Nevertheless, it was a memorable time spent with some dear friends, especially Renee, who I have come to love like a sister over the last year.

ImageImage

I’m excited to announce that I’ve been selected to race for Betty Designs for the 2014 race season; I’m a BETTY!!  I was psyched to receive my team gear in the mail so here is a shot of my first “try on.” 🙂  Definitely check out the website http://www.bettydesigns.com for edgy designs and high performance gear for triathlon, cycling, running and surfing.  Even better, take advantage of the 10 percent reduced rate for Team Betty family and friends by entering the code PINKpollman14 at checkout.  Definitely let me know how you like her gear!  I LOVE it.

Image

On December 21st, I PR’d my 5k by about 20 seconds (I think) and finally broke the 21 minute mark, taking second overall for the females, while racing in my Team Betty kit for the first time! 🙂  I love it – it was VERY comfortable and for reasons that I will not go into, I can also say that the material dries very quickly and doesn’t chafe when wet! lol  It was also a surprising 70ish degrees that morning in Virginia Beach!

Image

We make the long trek to frigid Illinois to visit my family for Christmas.  We were all under the same roof for the first time in many years.  It was good to see my family and to get to know my sister’s boyfriend, Matt (who is basically family), a bit better.

Image

Christmas Eve selfie with my maternal grandma!

Image

My sister, Kelcey, and I after battling over a wish bone.  She won, but that’s okay… I believe in doing rather than wishing. 😉

Image

 

I have a very large family and these are just the few cousins who made it home to Grandma’s for Christmas (on mom’s side).  There was an other photo with all of the great grandkids… we wouldn’t all fit in the same picture!

Image

 

After a Christmas morning speed session at my old (gravel and iced over) track.  It sounded like a good idea at the time but 20 degrees is COLD!  We were fogging up the phone camera!

Image

Look, Ma!  We DO love each other! 🙂

So, that’s that.  Beginning next week, I will be traveling extensively in January for internship interviews, the results of which will determine where I live, learn and train next year and whether or not I will get to spend 2014 living in the same home as my husband. I’ll also be spending much of January training for a new job that I will work part time in addition to my job as a psychometrician so it’s going to be a busy and rough month.  My goal is to maintain fitness and get back to it in February.  Coach Dai has been excellent and IS being excellent in supporting these activities and helping me achieve balance between training and life. 🙂  Looking forward to another year with Dai Roberts Group!

2013:  It’s been a year of growing and learning and racing and training.  It was a year of deployments and making new friends and learning to be more independent while still needing my husband.  I’d be lying if I said that the next year didn’t seem a bit intimidating to me but I’m ready for it and excited to see what 2014 has to offer.  Stay positive, stay focused, and take breaks from staying focused!

😛

Remember…

Image

 

One thought on “A Year Wiser

  1. I’m glad you are enjoying yourself. It sounds like a solid winter for you Courtney!

Leave a Reply

