What I Lack in Talent…

I make up for in tenacity.  So, let me tell you a little bit about how that has worked for me.  Today I received this:

Image

But there’s a lot more to the story than what you’ve been able to follow over the last few months.  I first applied for a Navy psychology program when I applied to the Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences (UHUHS) in 2008.  I wasn’t even asked to interview.  I spent the next year working with the program director to gain some experience in conducting literature reviews.  I took additional prerequisite coursework online over the next year while working on active duty and I completed an online GRE prep course and retook the GRE, raising my score by 80 points.  I reapplied to USUHS (and simultaneously to Regent University just in case) and I got an interview at both schools!  But… I was selected as the first alternate for USUHS.  I didn’t feel too terribly since they only take three Navy candidates a year but I was still pretty disappointed.  I was offered and accepted admission into Regent University.

Still determined to return to the Navy as a psychologist, I applied for the Navy Psychology internship program during my first year at Regent University.  At this point, I was rather confident that I would be accepted.  My advisor at Regent University is a retired Navy clinical psychologist and we was very confident in my application.  They only take five candidates a year for this program so, again, it was competitive.  And, again, I was selected as an alternate.  This time, I was devastated.  When I got the news, I had recently begun dating Justin and I remember crying into his t-shirt for about twenty minutes.  I had worked so hard and they just kept saying “no” when I KNEW that I would be an asset to the Navy!  At this point, I started to let go of the dream.  I believe that everything happens for a reason and I thought, “Well, maybe this isn’t God’s plan for me.”  I began to embrace the civilian identity and looked forward to a career as a civilian psychologist.

Initially, I didn’t plan on applying for the Navy Clinical Psychology Internship Program.  I had decided that this wasn’t the path for me.  Clearly, the Navy wasn’t interested.  But then… Justin decided that he really didn’t want to stay in the Navy long term.  And I started to feel the itch.  I kept trying to push it out of my mind but one day, I brought it up to Justin.  He was immediately on board with it.  He encouraged me to go for it and I began to realize that I had let myself feel a little bit defeated and that was influencing my view of Navy psychology.  So, I threw my hat in the ring. It was risky, emotionally, because the more involved I got in the process, the more disappointed I knew I would be if it didn’t work out this time.  When I went for my interview, I left feeling energized at the thought of becoming a Navy clinical psychologist.  I had given a lot of my energy to the process and all I could do from that point was wait for Match Day.

It REALLY hit me this morning (with happy tears and all) that what I have been working toward for six years has finally come to fruition.  I could have given up… I DID give up for a little while… but in the end, I refused to let previous failures define me.  I’m so thankful that I have such an amazing life partner to push me out of my comfort zone and keep me from wallowing in self-pity.  Now, Justin and I have this amazing (and scary) adventure that we will embark on, together.  I’m so excited to be going back on to active duty; it is an honor to be allowed to serve those who serve!  Don’t give up, my friends!  Stay strong, be tenacious!  Refuse to give in!

So, to end this (hopefully) motivational post:

Side note:  Back in the day when I ran with my iPod and Nike plus, this was my go-to motivational song.  All you gotta keep is strong…

 

 

6 thoughts on “What I Lack in Talent…

  1. Kristy says:

    Congrats!!!! What an inspiring story! And one that has already added value to my life. Thank you for sharing!!

  2. Great job! Tenacity is one of my favorite traits. It also makes the victories taste sweeter because you had to work so much harder for them.

Leave a Reply

