Ready to Shamrock!

I’ve had some ups and downs over the last few weeks. While the match news was very exciting, the aftermath of preparing to move and finishing classes has been somewhat stressful. I’m also still learning to balance shift work with training. I had to start my half-marathon taper a bit early when, about three weeks ago, I realized that things were not well in my right shin.

You should all be very proud of me! I was so proactive! I did not try to run through pain and I immediately started doing regular ice massage, rolling, sticking, got a full body massage and went to physical therapy right away! I didn’t like having to back off so suddenly from running but it paid off and I’m feeling pretty good now. I’ll be running the half on Sunday and I’m looking to possibly PR. Justin is running the full and we are hoping for a 2:25 or 2:26 for him! I’m actually more excited about his race; this will be a great gauge of what he needs to do to qualify for the Olympic trials.

For the rest of the weekend, I’m setting school work aside and I’m going to try not to think about my move. I’m going to enjoy the excitement of race weekend and have fun seeing what kind of time I can throw down at one of my favorite half marathon courses! We kicked off pre-race carb loading tonight with some homemade spaghetti sauce and tomorrow we will enjoy some pizza in our ocean front hotel room! This was my first ever half marathon many years ago an probably my last Shamrock race in Virginia Beach for a while so I intend to live it up!

Good luck to everyone racing and training this weekend. Shamrock on!!!

20140314-195720.jpg

2 thoughts on “Ready to Shamrock!

  1. Mom says:

    Good luck to both of you on Sunday! Love you both 😘😘

Leave a Reply

