Discretionary Spending…

Betty Designs just posted her fabulous new capri design (that I really really want to purchase)…

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 10.12.30 AM

How fabulous are these!?  But… I will not be making said purchase because…

Yesterday, I became the proud owner of this beauty…

Screen Shot 2015-02-16 at 10.13.06 AM

My first road bike!  I have named her “Valor” in honor of my first duty station in the Navy.  I served aboard the USS ROSS (DDG 71) whose motto was “Fortune favors valor.”  So, Valor it is!  She is a speedy little 2014.  I was originally told that she wouldn’t be good for LONG rides (50 plus miles) because she is built more for speed than comfort.  Then, I informed the shop guys that I have completed a few centuries… on a tri bike.  They were certain I would find this more comfortable and took back their “you won’t want to ride long on it” statements.  After that, I was sold.  It went for a great clearance price since it is a 2014, which is largely why I decided that this would be the weekend to look into the purchase of a road bike.  Now, I’m just waiting for my PowerTap/CycleOps pro account clearance so that I can order my racing wheels and then I’ll be broke… er… I mean set. 🙂  I also need to get this road bike fit for me.  I’m familiar with how a tri bike should fit and feel but I’m really unsure about a road bike.  I THINK I might need a shorter handle bar stem because I MAY be reaching a BIT too far but, again, not sure.  I’ll figure it out. 🙂

In the mean time, get yourself some sick gear at Betty Designs with my personal link! https://bettydesigns.refersion.com/c/8bfa Let me know what bad@ss is beautiful gear you end up treating yourself to!

Leave a Reply

